SNOOPY SPOTLIGHT: KATHLEEN SHEA: “PEANUTS QUILTED CELEBRATIONS”

PEANUTS QUILTED CELEB RATIONS, AQS PUBLISHING, 95 pages
PEANUTS QUILTED CELEBRATIONS, AQS PUBLISHING, 95 pages

The acquiring is simply a small part of the Peanuts fan and collector’s world.  You have choices.  If you wish to keep to yourself and enjoy the hobby quietly on your own, great.  If you’re more of an extrovert or want to attempt to be, you have the chance to connect via the internet especially on the Peanuts Collector Club facebook page.  But in my opinion, the best way to connect is in person, meeting one on one at a Peanuts event.

The PCC held such an event the weekend of July 27, 2001, in King of Prussia, PA.  It was there I had the opportunity to meet Kathleen Shea, who, at that time, lived in New York.  I enjoyed speaking with her and learning of her love for the Peanuts characters and we became friends.  In fact, members of the PCC were treated to Kathleen’s column in the newsletter, entitled “SOS:  Scrub Our Snoopys, The Collectibles Cleaning Column (and then some!).”   We had a glimpse of her sense of humor through her writings  as she instructed us how to save, clean and revive our collectibles, plus lots more.

ST. PATRICK'S DAY TABLE RUNNER
ST. PATRICK’S DAY TABLE RUNNER

Now this lovely, petite woman has bowled me over with her gorgeous book, “Peanuts Quilted Celebrations” published by American Quilters Society.

I don’t have a creative stitch in me.  I don’t sew, paint or do-it-yourself or any sort of crafts. But just so you know I don’t come from a family of all thumbs,  I wish to mention that one of my grandmothers designed dresses, had her own factory in Los Angeles and a dress shop on Catalina Island, off the coast of California; my mother created beaded flower arrangements which amazed people and my sister is very artistic of which I’m very proud.   As for my creative skill:  Santa put a piece of coal in my stocking.  As one sewing class teacher told me, “give up.”

DESIGN PORTION OF BED SCARF
FOCAL PORTION OF BED SCARF

Kathleen’s book arrived from amazon.com the other day.  It’s a soft-backed, glossy covered  book that is simply glorious with projects to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day, Easter, Halloween, Christmas, the Red, White and Blue (my personal fav) plus a “Happiness Is” wall hanging and autumn quilt.  I consider this an art book as well as instruction manual on how to create beautiful Peanuts items.   In addition to the wall hanging, there are pillows, bed scarf, table runner, table topper and placemat.  A bonus CD is included to learn to make a Linus quilt.  Take a look at some of the of projects and consider how lovingly they were created and how well they will display.  I always knew there was so much more to Kathleen than just being a highly educated, down-to-earth and creative woman, but this is icing on the cake.  Kathleen has taken a subject we all love, PEANUTS, and brought it to a new dimension that has never before been presented to us.

MERRY CHRISTMAS WALL HANGING
MERRY CHRISTMAS WALL HANGING

Jean Schulz recognizes Kathleen’s accomplishment in her forward.  I highly suggest you obtain this book whether you plan to follow the projects or not.

So congrats and kudos to a woman who we are going to hear more from in the years to come.

SNOOPY SPOTLIGHT: KATHLEEN SHEA: “PEANUTS QUILTED CELEBRATIONS”

Leave a Reply

